Welcome to the City of Gunners

Geography and Climate

Geography and Climate

Attock District’s is characterized by very hot summers and very cold winters. The maximum temperature reaches 40°C. The northern part is more humid, with a relatively moderate climate as compared to the southern part.

The river Indus flows on the western and northern sides of the district; the Haro River comes from Haripur and passes through the Attock tehsil on the north of the Kala Chitta Range. The land consists mainly of hills, plateaus, and dissected plains. The area north of the Haro River is a flood plain with fertile soil.

Attock is located at 33° 46′ 20N Latitude and 72° 22′ 6E Longitude. It has an altitude of 348 metres (1,142 ft). The average annual rainfall in the district is 783 mm (30.8 in).

Geography and Climate

Attock District is located in the northwest of the Punjab province of Pakistan. The district was created in 1904 by the merger of Talagang tehsil from the Jhelum District and the Pindigheb, Fatehjang and Attock tehsils from Rawalpindi District of British Raj. The original name was Campbellpore district after Sir Campbell who founded the city of Campbellpore to the southeast of Attock Town. The name of the district was changed to Attock in 1978.

Attock District is bordered by the Haripur and Swabi districts of North-West Frontier Province to the north, the district of Rawalpindi to the east, the district of Chakwal to the southeast, the district of Mianwali to the southwest, and North-West Frontier Province districts of Kohat and Nowshera to the west and northwest. The river Indus forms the western boundary of the district.

District Attock

Attock district was constituted in 1904 by taking Talagang Tehsil from Jhelum district and Pindigheb, Fatehjang and Attock tehsils from Rawalpindi district. The district was named as Campbellpur after the name of Sir Campbell who laid the foundation stone of Campbellpur City in 1908 a few kilometres away on the south-east of Attock Khurd Town. The name Attock was again given to it in 1978. District Attock is bounded on the north by Swabi and Haripur districts of N.W.F.P., on the East by Rawalpindi, on the South by Chakwal district, on the South-West by Mianwali district, in the West by Kohat district and on North-west by Nowshera district of N.W.F.P. The Indus River flows along the western boundary of the district for about 130 Kilometers. It divides Attock district from the three bordering districts of N.W.F.P. Attock district is spread over an area of 6,856.7 Square Kilometers having a population of 1,264,564 and comprising of following 6 tehsils, 440 villages, 72 Union Councils and 3 Cantt areas:

1. Attock
2. Fateh Jang
3. Hassan Abdal
4. Hazro
5. Jand
6. Pindi Gheb


District Attock is a combination of hills and Plains. The area in the north-west and south is hilly on the north hills are a southern extension of the hills of Haripur district. In the middle, along its western boundary are the famous Kala Chitta hills. This range is almost 50 Km and attains the greatest height of more than 1,000 m.The range is covered with forest. The Khairee Moorat hills range cuts boundary in Tehsil Fateh Jang.The district is divided into two portions i.e. one to the north and north-west of the Kala Chitta range and the other to the south and east of it. The former includes Attock, Hazro and Hassanabdal Tehsils and latter Fateh Jang, Pindigheb and part of Tehsil Jand.

Spread the love